Starting Blogging 101

Hello and welcome to the first of my writing/blogging course work. I want an interesting blog so I enrolled in a combined course to help me get going in the right direction. So already I have learned I can add tags. This helps bring people to my blog that may be interested in what I am writing about. The reason I decided to go public is so that people that may be thinking about becoming a teacher can see and journey with me the real-life experience of being a teacher these days. Sure a lot of people tell me that their mom, aunt, relative was a teacher and it was great. Well then this is not going to be your experience – if you have a relative already to help you with the “in” then your ahead of me. I am on my own. Sure I have seven years experience in another province and lots of letters of recommendation, even from principals, but to not know anyone!! is a tough place to be.  There is no teacher contract and that is in the news, plus the teachers in Ontario have the new curriculum for sex education.  I have always been comfortable explaining any sex related information to my children, or their friends, if they ever came to me with questions they may have been too afraid or embarrassed to ask their parents. I use proper terminology, and tell the truth as best I know it. I am so excited to get a class and yet the promise looks bleak. I do hope by some miracle that I get hired, full time by a great school board so I have an opportunity to show how much I love teaching, care about every child, and refuse to believe that there is a child that can not be taught. Every child can learn if I give them the tools, love, support and encouragement they need. It sounds like a lot because it is! That is why teachers want smaller class sizes, and parents should be backing them up with this. It is very difficult to get to each child when there are more than 18 children and one teacher. The figure is more like 25-28 students to one teacher.  Well now I am writing about my passion and rambling on beyond what you probably want to read. I will sign off for now and ask you to please support your child’s teacher. Get involved with the school, find out what you can do at home to help your child succeed at school and work as a team with the teacher, principal, and others to get the best education for your child.  Teachers always appreciate a homemade treat or just knowing you can help by donating those paper towel tubes, or old magazines you are no longer using. Yours in Education, Miss MacTavish.

Leave a Reply

